reemastication

softening hard experience

I am in a diner in San Francisco, chewing too hard

The “Big Bopper” I have ordered in Lori’s Diner, just off Union Square, in contrast to the rather enticing picture on the menu, is somewhat overcooked, therefore dry and unappetising. The lettuce is tasteless, though crisp. The tomato leaves a plasticky aftertaste in my mouth. The blue cheese looks suspiciously like a slice of Boursin. I daren’t taste the red onions. But do I speak up?

I have a couple of hours till my flight back to New York, to reflect on an emotionally draining weekend. Which I will do, while softening my patty with “Yellow Mustard”.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

